CMSP Motorcyclist Training Course (CMSP MTC)
The California Motorcyclist Safety Program Motorcyclist Training Course (CMSP MTC) is designed for the novice rider with no (or limited) street-riding experience. This course includes both classroom and on-cycle instruction. You will learn the fundamental skills required to operate the motorcycle and progress to street riding skills and strategies. Topics covered include fear, understanding how motorcycles turn, proper cornering strategies, and emergency crash avoidance skills. The course is based on the most current research in rider safety and utilizes modern training methods. Though designed for new riders, any rider that has not taken a motorcycle course will benefit from this clinic. Motorcycles and helmets are provided in this course. For more information, please visit the CA-MSP site.
The CMSP Motorcyclist Training Course (CMSP MTC) will give you the basic skills needed to build upon for safe riding and upon successful completion of the course, students will receive a DMV DL-389 certificate. Successful completion of the course may waive the riding skills test at the California DMV.
** All course sessions start on time. We recommend arriving at least 10 min early to all sessions. Failure to appear, on time, to any portion of the course will result in a forfeiture of course tuition and seat in the course. WE ARE NOT JOKING ABOUT THIS! **
The course is approximately 16 hours in total. Students have approximately 6 hours of classroom instruction and 10 hours of riding in a controlled safe environment. The course may NOT be done in segments. The course must be completed as scheduled, the first classroom then followed by the motorcycle-riding portion.
Cost as per State Mandated
21 and OVER $350.00
20 and UNDER $295.00
Number of students in the course
Never to exceed a ratio of 6 to 1
A maximum of 12 students per range is allowed
At the first class, state laws and CMSP require you to present Government Issued Current ID. The following are examples of such forms of ID’s a current driver's license (either a California license or a license acceptable to the California DMV), a California DMV-issued auto instruction permit, or a California DMV-issued identification card.
What do I need to bring to the course?
Your training site will provide the motorcycle. Full coverage helmets are also provided if you do not have your own. Regardless of your riding experience, you are required to wear a helmet during the riding portion of your class. You should come to the riding portion with eye protection, a long-sleeved shirt or jacket, sturdy full-fingered motorcycle or leather gloves, long pants and sturdy over the ankle footwear (not canvas).
All students will go through a riding gear inspection by the Instructor if you do not have the necessary items listed above you will be asked to leave and forfeit your spot in the class and have to repay all fees.
Any person younger than 18 years must also have the written permission of his/her parent(s) or legal guardian and they must accompany the student to the first class so we may verify the relationship.
At the first class, state laws and CMSP policy require you to present one of the following documents: a current driver's license (either a California license or a license acceptable to the California DMV), a California DMV-issued auto instruction permit, or a California DMV-issued identification card.
Can I use my own helmet?
Yes, a student can use their own helmets if they met the following:
Helmets MUST be full-face D.O.T approved and non-offensive. Helmets must be a 3/4 or above, no 1/2 helmets allowed. Helmets will be inspected by one of our Instructors. They have final say over either being used during the course.